Tags

, , ,

dollar bill

Do you remember your first job? I’m not talking about cash jobs like babysitting, mowing lawns, shoveling, etc. I’m talking about the kind you actually filled out a W-4 and got a paycheck.

My first job was at Elitch Gardens when it was on 38th. I worked for a retail store that took photos of guests as they entered the park. We developed the film and put them in these little keychain viewers. Some guests were more than willing to pause for 30 seconds to get a photo but I distinctly remember one lady telling me to get out of the way because I was slowing down her fun.

I was thinking about my first job since its summer and my son is going to start his first job this week. I’m proud of him for wanting a job, it’s not something we pushed him to do, he wants his own money and is excited for the opportunity. He has a great work ethic and I’m hoping this job, earning his own money is rewarding for him. It’s a right-of-passage your first job and that first paycheck.

What was your first job? Or what was your favorite summer job?